EgyptAir Flight 804 Has Vanished 10-Minutes After Entering Egyptian Airspace

la-fg-g-egyptair-flight-missing-web

The Airbus A320 Flight 804 vanished at 2:45 a.m. local time, 10 miles after it entered Egyptian air space, it said. The Paris airport authority and the French civil aviation authority would not immediately comment.

UPDATE

EgyptAir has also just updated information about the time contact with the plane was lost, now saying it was 2:30am local time (00:30 GMT/01:30 BST/10:30 AEST), and not 2:45am, as it earlier stated.

THE GUARDIAN

An EgyptAir passenger jet carrying 66 passengers has vanished en route to Cairo.

The flight departed from Paris on Wednesday evening and lost contact with ground crews at 2.45am local time, about 16km (10 miles) inside Egyptian airspace.

The 12-year-old Airbus A320-232 was about 40 minutes from its destination. It was the aircraft’s fifth flight of the day, including journeys to Asmara, Eritrea and Carthage in Tunisia.

The airline’s vice-chairman, Ahmed Abdel, told CNN the plane made no distress call.

There were “no recorded snags coming out of Cairo” or reported before leaving Charles de Gaulle, he said.

The captain had also recorded more than 6,000 flying hours, including 2,000 hours in that model, Abdel said. There had not been any special cargo or notification of dangerous goods on board, he added.

L.A. Times

MORE INFO: The plane was flying at 37,000 feet when it disappeared shortly after entering Egyptian airspace, the airline tweeted. It said the Airbus A320 had 59 passengers and 10 crew members.

Conditions were clear and calm when the plane crossed over the Mediterranean, according to CNN meteorologist Michael Guy.

In a statement on its website, Charles de Gaulle Airport said EgyptAir Flight 804 left Paris at 11:09 p.m. local time.

The airline’s media center said it will provide more information as it becomes available.

WMUR

Share