Isis issues list of seven rules for Christians in Raqqa

Islamic State (Isis) have released a list of seven rules which all Christians living in Syrian city Raqqa must obey.

The statement opens with a quote from the Quran, which reads: “Fight those who do not believe in Allah, nor in the latter day, nor do they prohibit what Allah and His Apostle have prohibited, nor follow the religion of truth, out of those who have been given the Book, until they pay the tax in acknowledgement of superiority and they are in a state of subjection.”

It goes on to declare that Abu Bakr al-Baghdadi, the self-styled caliph of Islamic State, had given safety to Christians, promising to protect “their selves, children, money and churches.”

The promised safeguard comes with a list of seven clear rules, forbidding public worship and treachery against IS.

Under IS, Christians in Raqqa are no longer allowed to construct churches in their villages or even repair any damaged churches.

They are also banned from publicly showing their crosses in Muslim areas, or in their own market places. All acts of worship must be carried out with minimal noise as IS have forbidden Christians to “raise their voices when praying or in other acts of worship.”

  • Where is the UN?

  • winniec

    This is straight out of the Pact of Omar which has been the default way Muslims have always discriminated against minorities. This is very Islamic.

    • Yes, this is standard Islamic law – to which all moderate Muslims adhere in principle.

  • Hard Little Machine

    So they’re modeled after Malmo Sweden then?

  • pdxnag

    Let’s all take a Gun-Vote Test.

    Do you have a “community” within your borders that you would not trust with a dozen shipping container loads of rifles and ammunition at a time of crisis? If you say yes then do you trust this same community with a right to vote?

  • Blacksmith

    And is anyone here surprised?