Officials too PC to ban travel

In effect, Britain has a travel ban on people coming from the three West African countries with Ebola outbreaks – Liberia, Guinea and Sierra Leone. British commercial and charter flights in and out have been suspended since August and will remain suspended until the end of March, at least.

Air France, Emirates Airlines and Korea Air have suspended all scheduled traffic in and out of West Africa, too, making it unnecessary for their national governments to impose complete “entry restrictions” on incoming passengers from the hot zone.

Of the 54 countries in Africa, 30 have barred entry by anyone from the three infected countries. The World Health Organization credits travel bans by Nigeria and Senegal for stopping the spread of the disease to those countries.