European Diversity Awards – 2014

The European Diversity Awards recognise and celebrate those organisations and individuals that have shown innovation, creativity and commitment to equality, diversity and inclusion during 2014.

The awards recognise excellence in the areas of gender, disability, sexual orientation, age, race, culture and religion across Europe.

The EDAs are unique in recognising all aspects of diversity across the whole of Europe and celebrate the best across both the corporate and campaigning aspects of diversity. The awards are a key date in the diversity calendar in Europe and are widely acknowledged as the “Oscars of diversity.”

Full list of 2014 European Diversity Award winners:

Hero of the Year: Councillor Rabina Khan (Independent Tower Hamlets Councillor & community worker)

Campaigner of the Year: Igor Kochetkov (Chairman, Russian LGBT network)

Community Project of the Year: West End Women’s and Girl’s Centre

Diversity Champion of the Year: Aongus Hegarty(President Europe, Middle East & Africa) DELL

Journalist of the Year: Evan Davis / Ade Adepitan (joint winner)

Most Inclusive Employer of the Year: Nestle

Marketing Campaign of the Year: Barclays

Company of the Year: Royal Air Force

Outstanding Employee Network Group: Diversability Support Network (Novartis)

Charity of the Year: Caretrade Charitable Trust

Inspirational Role Model of the Year: Sophie Ward (actress and gay parenting advocate)

Diversity Team of the Year: BBC Expert Women Campaign Team

Supplier Diversity of the Year: IBM

Global Diversity Award: Sylvia Ann Hewlett (economist, author and expert on gender and workplace issues)

Lifetime Achievement Award: April Ashley MBE